One brand, one woman

how it all began ...,

I, Soumaya Zairi, designer and owner of Sumageza®, was born and raised in Brussels, Belgium.

Soumaya Zairi -Designer and owner of Sumageza - portrait shot


My interest in Moorish arts and crafts motivated me to go to Rabat and Fez, Morocco for a year after my graduation as a maquettist (typographic designer) and décoratrice interior designer. There I collaborated on various art projects with some renowned artists and architects.

Later, I lived in Hong Kong for three years, where I got to know the diversity of Asian cultures. Since that time I have been particularly fascinated by the materials stone, silk, wood and leather. Their colors and structures, the feeling of touching them, their hardness and their "soft warmth", their smell inspire me to work with them.

After returning to Europe, I had the great fortune to meet a true master of leather crafts in Brussels. From him I learned all the basics of maroquinerie, how to give shape to my own ideas, how to realize them in leather. 

Today I live in Germany, from where I make one of my dreams come true:


With my brand  I create my own collection of high quality leather bags under my label Sumageza®. 

Always striving to continue my education and to perfect my craft, I still attend a special school for Maroquinerie in Brussels.

Eine Marke, eine Frau

wie alles begann...,

geboren und aufgewachsen bin ich, Soumaya Zairi, Designerin und Inhaberin von Sumageza®, in Brüssel, Belgien.

Soumaya Zairi -Designer and owner of Sumageza - portrait shot

 

Mein Interesse an maurischem Kunsthandwerk motivierte mich, nach meiner Ausbildung zur Maquettistin (typografische Designerin) und Décoratrice Innenarchitektur für ein Jahr nach Rabat und Fes, Marokko, zu gehen. Dort habe ich an verschiedenen Kunstprojekten mit einigen namhaften Künstlern und Architekten zusammengearbeitet.

Später lebte ich drei Jahre in Hong Kong, wo ich die Vielfalt der asiatischen Kulturen kennenlernte. Seit dieser Zeit begeistern mich besonders die Materialien Stein, Seide, Holz und Leder. Ihre Farben und Strukturen, das Gefühl, sie zu berühren, ihre Härte und ihre "weiche Wärme", ihr Geruch inspirieren mich, mit ihnen zu arbeiten.

Nach meiner Rückkehr nach Europa hatte ich das große Glück, einen wahren Meister des Lederhandwerkes in Brüssel zu treffen. Von ihm lernte ich alle Grundlagen der Maroquinerie, wie man eigenen Ideen Form gibt, sie in Leder realisiert. 

Heute lebe ich in Deutschland, von wo aus ich einen meiner Träume wahr werden lasse:

Mit meiner Marke  kreiere ich unter meinem Label Sumageza® meine eigene Kollektion hochwertiger Ledertaschen. 

Immer bemüht, mich ständig weiterzubilden und mein Handwerk zu perfektionieren, besuche ich auch heute noch eine spezielle Schule für Maroquinerie in Brüssel.